Georgia Tech Institue for Computing Education Summer Camps

The most amazing thing happened today.  … well, I guess for this story to really make sense, I need to go back a few years. …..

Back when I was younger (:P jk, I’m not that old!) … 2008-2009, I was a student instructor and programs assistant for the Georgia Tech Institute for Computer Education Summer Camps, led by Barb Ericson and her team in the College of Computing.  Their website:  http://coweb.cc.gatech.edu/ice-gt/1080.

The Institue for Computing Education (ICE) has been offering summer computing camps at Georgia Tech since 2004. Each camp is one week long with at least one recreational activity during the week and a parent show on the last day. The kids who participate range from 5th to 12th grade (kids attend the camps by age groups; the older the kids, the more advanced the materials). They do a variety of activities with the students including CS Unplugged, PicoCrickets, Scratch, Alice, LEGO NXT robots, IPRE robots, and Media Computation.

As an aspiring young college student, this was definitely one of my favorite “real” jobs.  I got hang out with the most amazing and talented kids, see some of the craziest and most innovative projects (especially when you consider they were done by young kids!), and make a difference by bringing computer science to younger generations.

In any case, fast forward.  Today, I was walking around the library looking for an outlet for my computer, and a girl stops me to ask if my name was Candis.  I had no idea who she was at the time, but was soon thrilled to find out that she was one of the girls in the summer camps from three years ago!  I can’t believe she recognized me!!  … from three years ago!!!!  She is now a freshman at Georgia Tech and I honestly couldn’t be happier for her.  I guess it was just one of those moments where you realize that some of the things you may have done really did impact and make a difference in the lives of the people around you.

Some photos from those good ole days ^_^

There really were a happy group of kids, I promise!  lol … right before this pic, they insisted they were too cool to smile 😛

This was during the end-of-program parent show where the kids got to demo various project they had worked on throughout the camp.  The one shown here is from the Lego NXT robot dance competition.  Kids built the robots, programed dance routines, and then dressed up their robots to play the part.

Me and one of the other “camp counselors” … back when my hair was super long and I was slightly crazier 😛

~ by Candis on April 20, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
