Wanting

Have you ever wanted something so badly and so passionately that deep down you just KNEW you were going to get it?  It’s that perfect job opportunity, that A on a homework or test grade, to win a certain bake off competition, an override into a class, that little yellow house with the white picket fence.  I want it all and I want it like nothing I’ve ever wanted before.  It’s that dash of complete certainty in a world of definite certainty that makes it feel so weird.  …

For the baking competition, I had never given losing a second thought until now.  I researched for the perfect recipe.  I ran it by friends and family to get opinions, I borrowed cooking appliances instead of improvising.  I am going to make the perfect red velvet cheesecake.

I recently had a tough mathematics homework where I was so certain that I knew exactly what I was doing.  I knew I would make a 100% … and I did.

Maybe that’s what happens when you give it your all.  There’s no running to get a good start.  There’s none of that awkward flapping of your wings.  You simply soar.  … now why can’t everything in life be that way?

~ by Candis on November 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
