I Love the GT CoC ;P

(1)  The CoC (College of Computing… come on people)

The Georgia Tech College of Computing is more than just my major school.  It became a sort of safe-haven… open arms into the GT life far far away from home.  It helped me transition into college.  It’s given me several jobs.  It gave me campus parents, W@CC sisters, friends, connections, and opportunities.  With the GT CoC, I’ve been to conferences in Orlando, San Fransisco, and Denver.  Becoming involved is probably one of the best choices I could have made.

(2)  ICE (Interactive Computing Education)

Working for GT-ICE, one of my jobs is to help teach kids computing concepts using programs and kits such as Lego Robots (what it sounds like), Pico-crickets (robotics + arts and crafts), Scratch (2-D Programming environment), and Alice (3-D Programming environment).  All of these programs help the students understand concepts such as binary numbers, looping, switches, object-oriented programming, etc.

LegoRobots_RescuepacMan

PicoCricketsAlice

(3)  My CM Mentees are AWESOME

Iris, Katrina, Teresa, and So-mi.

This coming semester is the first semester of the College of Computing Mentoring program.  With the program, every incoming computing student (freshman or transfer) is assigned a mentor.  The mentor’s job is to help the students with advice, becoming accustomed to Tech life, tech classes, Atlanta…. anything a GT freshman needs.  As of right now, I have 4 mentees and all of them seem really cool.  I’m so excited for this coming semester!  ^_^

~ by Candis on July 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
